Leadership Team

Leadership Team

Pine Rest is an independent, community-based nonprofit organization governed by a volunteer Board of Directors consisting of a diverse group of community members representing business, industry, legal and justice system, providers, payers and more.

Pine Rest Board of Directors 2019-2020 Board Officers

  • Jody Vanderwel – Chairperson
  • Scott Bolinder – Vice Chairperson
  • Kathleen Vogelsang – Treasurer
  • Scott Bolinder – Secretary

Board Staff Members

  • Mark Eastburg, PhD – President and CEO
  • Alan Armstrong, MD – Chief Medical Officer
  • James Eicher, MD – President of the Medical Staff

Board Members

  • Scott Bolinder
  • Mary Ann Cartwright
  • Randall Christenson, MD
  • Sylvia Daining
  • LaRissa Hollingsworth
  • Art Jongsma, Jr, PhD
  • Douglas Josephson
  • Ronald Kool
  • Kirk Lambers
  • Glenn Mitcham
  • Hon. David McKeague
  • Lauretta (Laurie) Murphy
  • Abbey Sladick
  • Susan Valcq
  • Jody Vanderwel
  • Kathleen Vogelsang

Executive Leadership

Management leadership and daily operational oversight is provided by the Pine Rest Executive Council, comprised of the following individuals:

  • Mark Eastburg, PhD, President & Chief Executive Officer
  • Bob Nykamp, MA, Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
  • Alan Armstrong, MD, Vice President and Chief Medical Officer
  • Paul Karsten, MA, Vice President of Finance & Chief Financial Officer
  • Al Jansen, BS, Corporate Director of Community and Residential Services
  • Scott Wagner, MSW, MBA, Vice President of Behavioral Health Solutions
  • Susan Langeland, MBA, Vice President of Continuum Development
  • Tom Elzinga, BA, Vice President of General Services
  • Harmony Gould, MBA, Corporate Director of Hospital Based Services
  • Scott Halstead, PhD, Corporate Director of Professional Practice Group
  • Bob VandePol, MSW, Executive Director of Employee and Church Assistance Programs
  • Donald MacKenzie, MA, Executive Director of Pine Rest Foundation
  • James Rose, MS, MA, Director of Marketing & Communications
  • Suzanne Bolt, MBA, SHRM-SCP, Director of Human Resources
  • Timothy Todd, MD, Medical Staff President
  • Kelly Domagala, BSN, MSN, CENP, RN-BC, Chief Nurse Executive
  • Fred Kegel, Facilities Director